A Perspective on the VA

Orders to Nowhere...

As a veteran, I have been observing the ongoing events at the Department of Veterans Affairs with more than a passing interest.  Secret lists, overwhelmed medical facilities, a seemingly impenetrable bureaucracy, misguided compensation for questionable management practices – the hits just never seem to keep coming when it comes to news about he VA.

As a veteran, I am also a consumer of the VA’s programs: I was fortunate to be able to use the GI Bill for school, I go to a VA medical clinic for my checkups, and I engage with VA representatives who work hard every day to help veterans find jobs.

For me it is an interesting dichotomy.  I am neither a VA basher nor a VA cheerleader, but instead I am simply one of the approximately 22 million men and women in the United States who fall under the purview of the Department of Veterans Affairs. …

View original post 336 more words

Leave a Reply

